What have I learned this year?

escp_europe_logoLast Friday I finished my final exam in my M.Sc. in Marketing & Creativity at ESCP Europe. Over the last 10 months I have done what it seems about 50 presentations, 20 exams and spent endless hours working on group projects.

When I enrolled I was thrilled to know that we had 22 different nationalities in the class – spanning almost the entire globe, from China, to Germany, from Palestine to the United States and from Iceland to Peru. I had always thought of myself as an open minded person, one who welcomes everyone‘s opinion and appreciates other people‘s cultures. So when someone comes up to me and says that „at first“ they did not like me because I was disrespectful and did not take other people into consideration I will say I was shocked. They did continue by telling me that they like me now, after understanding more the way I work.

I was blind, closed off in my own bubble.

I‘ve been so lucky to live in London and Paris – two of the greatest cities in the world.

Over the last weeks I have been invited to an Iranian family dinner and last weekend I sat Shabbat on a Friday night.

I‘ve had experiences that will have a positive effect on the rest of my life.

So after all that, what have I learned this year?

I have learned so much about myself. I have learned to be more patient. I have learned how to behave around people that are different than me and to be more respectful of other people‘s cultures. This is something I can take with me both in my career and for myself personally.

And most important of all, I have met 45 people who will be my friends for life.

Thank you ESCP – Thank you MMK

mmk-2016-17

Hvað segir þú?

